Quick Post on Candidate Questions

Standard

I put together a list of questions to ask the candidates for four City Council position and one Mayoral position.  I asked my friends on Facebook and came up with some questions of my own.

I stewed whether to ask them one at a time, in a group email or all at the same time.  I decided to ask each person individually.  I asked the same questions of each of the candidates for Council; tweaked the questions a bit for the Mayoral position.

The questions asked were:

  1. Why are you running for Redmond City Council?
  2. What do you think the main obligations of Council members are?
  3. What will you bring to the council position?
  4. How will you stay connected with the people in the City of Redmond?
  5. What projects are you excited about?
  6. What projects would you like to see proposed or planned for the City?
  7. What challenges do you think the residents of Redmond face in the coming year?  5 years?  10 years?
  8. How do you feel Redmond meets the needs of small businesses?   Do you think Redmond could do better?
  9. What project or projects would you like to have been involved in and why?
  10. Do you feel Redmond is in step with other cities of like size and demographics?
  11. What are the short and long term plans to address the growing homeless situation?
  12. What are the short and long term plans to address the growing crime rate?
  13. How is the city going to mitigate traffic congestion and parking shortages with all the growth going on?
  14. How do you feel the about the Budget by Priorities method the City currently uses?
  15. How can the City remain fiscally accountable to the taxpayers?

Because at this time, she’s the only new candidate running for City Council Position #5, and because I still believe in “Ladies First”, I posed the questions via email to Angela Birney at the email listed on her Facebook page.  She is running for the position that will be vacated by Tom Flynn.

All candidates, including the Mayor are unopposed.  I sent the emails out on May 6th and May 7th to all of the candidates.

I received a response from Angela Birney within a few hours.

Ms. Norman,

Thank you for your inquiry. I will take a look at the questions and get back to you soon with my answers. I appreciate you taking the time to keep Redmond residents informed. 

Regards,

Angela Birney

I received an additional email today (May 14th) that she was still intending on answering my questions, but needed a bit more time.

I received an email response from David Carson on May 7th; requesting that I send the questions to his personal email and not his council email.  I complied and resent the questions to the personal email he provided.

I received an email response from Hank Margeson on May 7th:

Dear Ms. Norman,

This is my city business email and I do not correspond regarding campaign related issues hereon.  Therefore, I am sorry, but I will not be able to provide a response via this email.

Thank you for understanding,

Hank Margeson
Redmond City Council
425-556-2116

This email was cc’d to Michelle Hart, City Clerk.

I responded and asked if he could provide me with a personal email or another way to communicate with him.  I have not received a response from either Mr. Margeson or Ms. Hart with another form of communication.

I have not, as yet heard from Councilmember Hank Myers regarding my email request.

I sent similar questions to Mayor John Marchione, who is running for the position again this fall.

  1. You’ve been mayor since 2007.  Why are you running again for the position of Redmond City Mayor?
  2. What do you view as your main purpose as Mayor?
  3. What will you bring to the position of Mayor?
  4. How does the Mayor work with the Council in our City?
  5. How do you plan to stay connected with the people in the City of Redmond?
  6. What projects are you excited about?
  7. What projects would you like to see proposed or planned for the City?
  8. What challenges do you think the residents of Redmond face in the coming year?  5 years?  10 years?
  9. How do you feel Redmond meets the needs of small businesses?   Do you think Redmond could do better?
  10. What project or projects would you like to have been involved in and why?
  11. Do you feel Redmond is in step with other cities of like size and demographics?
  12. What are the short and long term plans to address the growing homeless situation?
  13. What are the short and long term plans to address the growing crime rate?
  14. How is the city going to mitigate traffic congestion and parking shortages with all the growth going on?
  15. How do you feel the about the Budget by Priorities method the City currently uses?
  16. How can the City remain fiscally accountable to the taxpayers?

His Executive Assistant, Susan Cooper responded via email that the Mayor was out of the office but would see my email when he returned.  I have yet to receive an additional response.

I’ll keep you posted if and when I receive answers to the questions.

One thought on “Quick Post on Candidate Questions

Leave a Reply

