Same

Standard

Many of my friends are posting open letters, so I guess this is mine.

 

I didn’t vote for him.  I didn’t vote for her.  I did vote for president.  I’ll let you untangle that (but don’t overthink it).

 

I am the same person I was Monday; in fact the same person I was before this election season started.  According to the news media and some people on social media, that is the problem.

 

I am white.  Apparently this makes me a bigot.

I am Christian.  This makes me a hater of all other religions.

I don’t support abortion.  This means I don’t understand and support a woman’s control of her body.

I believe in the sanctity of marriage between one man and one woman.  This makes me a homophobe.

I am the granddaughter of legally emigrated and naturalized immigrants from Ireland, Scotland and Italy.  This means I’m here wrongly because of the Native American’s plight.

I don’t agree with someone, so I am now a hater.

 

I don’t understand labeling people.  We are more than just a label; everyone is.  Not every cop is bad, not every doctor is good.  People irritate, confuse, astound, hurt, encourage and amuse me from all walks of life.

 

If I don’t agree with you it doesn’t mean I don’t understand what you’re saying.  I doesn’t mean I hate you.

 

This new president will be difficult for all of us.  No one won in this election, least of all our country.

Leave a Reply

